Los Angeles employees may want some information about the laws regarding sick leave that apply to them. Due to some recent laws, the government has provided for certain minimum amounts of sick time for nearly all California workers.
Traditionally, companies have not been required to provide an employee with paid sick time. In recent years, city and state governments have taken the initiative, passing laws with varying sick leave requirements. New York City and San Francisco have their own rules, as do the states of Connecticut and California. Massachusetts has a new law set to take effect in the summer of 2015.
All employees in San Francisco are entitled to an hour of sick time for every 30 hours that they work. This can be accrued up to a maximum of 40 hours each year for very small companies and up to 72 hours annually for other employers. When sick time is not used in a year, it is rolled over into the next year and not lost. The state has passed a separate law, which covers nearly all employees in the state. This also gives employees one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked, but it caps at 24 hours for a year. Employees may accrue up to 48 hours total before they stop gaining more.
California employees who believe that they are entitled to overtime pay or sick time may want to hire an attorney with experience in employment law issues. The attorney may be able to examine the worker’s situation and determine whether there has been a violation of wage and hour law. The attorney may then be helpful in bringing a claim against the employer for compensation for that time.
Source: Inc, “